Interpersonal relations matter

Cuifen Pui
1 min readJun 28, 2024

--

At a meal event where the person seated next to you may be a total stranger, I was surprised when A leaned over to hug a fellow diner. She thanked the other person, B, for giving her a really good internship experience. That internship was years ago!

When I asked A about this interaction later, she shared, “B was very thoughtful and kind! She was this way the whole time I was their intern. I was 18, and just out of pre-university.”

B was not her direct boss, but her acts of kindness left a lasting impression on A. This was particularly so when A noticed that not everyone was as kind as B was to interns.

I mentioned to A, “Your interaction with B reminded me that interpersonal relationships matter. And that kind (and unkind) moments are remembered way past the actual moment.”

A replied, “That’s such a wise perspective. And one that I could keep close to heart!”

A few hours after this conversation, I find myself thinking that every human being have our kind and unkind moments. Even when we have kind intentions, our decisions and actions may be perceived by others to be unkind. It takes love and courage to not mentally beat yourself up after an unkind moment. It also takes love and courage to be kind, even if you are perceived otherwise by others.

--

--